News & Announcements

The Department of Mathematics congratulates Professor Hannah Larson on being awarded the 2024 Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize! — Posted Sep 14, 2023
Congratulations to Professor William "Velvel" Kahan for reciept of an IEEE Milestone Plaque for the development of the Intel 8087 floating point coprocessor — Posted Sep 13, 2023
Congratulations to our Department Manager Brian Underwood for winning a 2023 Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Awards! — Posted May 4, 2023
Professor Michael Lindsey received the John Todd Award. Congratulations! — Posted Mar 6, 2023
Professor Yunqing Tang was awarded a Sloan Research Fellowship. Congratulations! — Posted Feb 16, 2023
Andrés R. Vindas Meléndez has been selected for the 2023 Class of MGB-SIAM Fellows. Congratulations! — Posted Feb 7, 2023
Fall '22 Math Requirements & L&S Grading Option Policy Modification — Posted Dec 9, 2022
Professor Emeritus Lawrence C. Evans has received the Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition for his book Partial Differential Equations. Congratulations! — Posted Dec 7, 2022
2022 Department Newsletter Available! — Posted Nov 22, 2022
Congratulations to Professor Emeritus Nikolai Reshetikhin for awarding the 2022 Weyl-Wigner Award. — Posted Nov 10, 2022
Professor Venkatesan Guruswami was named a 2023 Fellow of the American Mathematical Society. Congratulations! — Posted Nov 10, 2022
Professor Yunqing Tang has been awarded the SASTRA Ramanujan prize. Congratulations! — Posted Oct 10, 2022
Summer 2022 Math Courses — Posted Mar 7, 2022
Congratulations to Wentinn N. Liao, Jianzhi Wang, Richard H. Wu for receiving honorable mention of the 82nd William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition. — Posted Mar 3, 2022
Professor Nikhil Srivastava and collaborators have been awarded the 2022 (inaugural) Ciprian Foias Prize in Operator Theory. Congratulations! — Posted Dec 3, 2021
2021 Department Newsletter Available! — Posted Nov 30, 2021
Congratulations to Lily (Qiao) Li, who received Honorable Mention for the 2022 Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Woman. — Posted Nov 16, 2021
Congratulations to Professor Nicolai Reshetikhin, who was selected as a 2022 Fellow of the AMS. — Posted Nov 1, 2021
Spring 2022 Quantitative Reasoning Exam will be held Wed. Jan. 19th from 5-6:30PM (Room TBA) — Posted Oct 20, 2021
Congratulations to our faculty who will be Invited Speakers at the 2022 International Congress of Mathematicians — Posted Sep 14, 2021
Fall 2021 Quantitative Reasoning Exam will be held Wed. Aug. 25th from 5-6:30PM in 939 Evans Hall — Posted Aug 9, 2021
Congratulations to Professor Lin Lin for receiving a Simons Investigator award — Posted Jul 7, 2021
Please join us in celebrating LGBTQ Pride Month. — Posted Jun 25, 2021
We are very sad to announce that Dr. Alfonso Gracia-Saz, who received his PhD from our department in 2006, passed away. — Posted May 11, 2021
Please join us in celebrating Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month and honor the rich heritage and incredible contributions... — Posted May 6, 2021
Congratulations to Dr. Kelli Talaska and Dr. Alexander Paulin for receiving UC Berkeley’s Extraordinary Teaching in Extraordinary Times Award. — Posted Apr 23, 2021
Professor Alan Hammond has been elected a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. Congratulations! — Posted Apr 8, 2021
The Department of Mathematics condemns anti-Asian violence, racism, discrimination, and hate. We encourage you to explore the resources collected below to learn how to support our AAPI community and each other. — Posted Mar 31, 2021
March is Women's History Month and to celebrate we invite you to learn more about the experiences and contributions of women to mathematics. — Posted Mar 4, 2021
Congratulations to Eunice Sukarto named runner-up for 2021 Alice T. Schafer Prize. — Posted Mar 1, 2021