Past Commencement Speakers

Past Commencement Speakers 

2023 - Gunnar Carlsson, Professor Emeritus, Department of Mathematics, Stanford University
2022 - Moon Duchin, Professor of Mathematics, Tufts University
2019 - Peter Sarnak, Professor of Mathematics in the School of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study and in the Department of Mathematics at Princeton University
2018 - David Eisenbud, Director of Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, Professor of Mathematics at UC Berkeley
2017 - Robert L. Bryant, Phillip Griffiths Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, Duke University
2016 - Robert J. Birgeneau, Chancellor Emeritus and Silverman Distinguished Professor of Physics, Materials Science and Engineering, and Public Policy at UC Berkeley
2015 - Jordan Ellenberg, Professor of Mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2014 - Amie Wilkinson, Professor of Mathematics, University of Chicago
2013 - Barry Mazur, Professor of Mathematics, Harvard University
2012 - Freeman Dyson, Professor of Physics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, NJ
2011 - Richard Muller, Professor of Physics, UC Berkeley
2010 - Paul Alivisatos, Director of the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science, and the Larry and Diane Bock Professor of Nanotechnology at UC Berkeley
2009 - Lisa Goldberg, Executive Director of Analytic Initiatives, MCSI Barra
2008 - Charles Ferguson, President of Representational Pictures, Inc.
2007 - Andrew Z. Fire, Professor of Pathology and Genetics, Stanford University
2006 - James H. Simons, President of Renaissance Technologies Corp.
2005 - Rachel Westlake, Instructor of Mathematics, Diablo Valley College
2004 - James Sethian, Professor of Mathematics, UC Berkeley
2003 - Tom Campbell, Dean, Haas School of Business, UC Berkeley
2002 - Maria M. Klawe, Dean of Science, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
2001 - Alfred Hales, Director of IDA's Center for Communications Research and Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, UC Los Angeles
2000 - Jennifer Chayes, Manager of the Theory Group at Microsoft Research
1999 - Hugo Rossi, Deputy Director of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
1998 - Carol Saunders Wood, Professor of Mathematics at Wesleyan University
1997 - Dr. Keith Devlin, Dean of the School of Science at Saint Mary's College
1996 - Constance Reid, Mathematics Biographer
1995 - Mary-Claire King, Professor of Genetics in the Department of Molecular & Cell Biology, and Professor of Epidemiology in the School of Public Health, UC Berkeley
1994 - Lee Dembart, Adjunct Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication, UC Berkeley
1993 - James A. Sethian, Vice Chair for Undergraduate Affairs, Mathematics Department, UC Berkeley
1992 - William P. Thurston, Professor of Mathematics, UC Berkeley
1991 - Vaughan F.R. Jones, Professor of Mathematics, UC Berkeley
1990 - Eugene Wong, Associate Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
1989 - William Randolph Hearst III, Publisher of the San Francisco Examiner
1988 - Irving Kaplansky, Director of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute
1987 - Geoffrey F. Chew, Dean of Physical Sciences, UC Berkeley
1985 - Jerrold Marsden, Professor of Mathematics, UC Berkeley
1984 - Gerard Debreu, Professor of Economics and Mathematics, UC Berkeley