Ian Agol Receives 2013 AMS Veblen Prize


Ian Agol Receives
2013 AMS Veblen Prize

December 19, 2012

Providence, RI---Ian Agol of the University of California, Berkeley,
is receiving the 2013 AMS Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry.  The Veblen
Prize is given every three years for an outstanding publication in
geometry or topology that has appeared in the preceding six years.
The prize will be awarded on Thursday, January 10, 2013, at the Joint
Mathematics Meetings in San Diego.

Agol is honored for "his many fundamental contributions to hyperbolic
geometry, 3-manifold topology, and geometric group theory," the prize
citation says.  The citation points in particular to the following

I. Agol, P. Storm, and W. P. Thurston, "Lower bounds on volumes of
hyperbolic Haken 3-manifolds" with an appendix by Nathan Dunfield,
JOURNAL OF THE AMS, 20 (2007), no. 4, 1053-1077;

I. Agol, "Criteria for virtual fibering," JOURNAL OF TOPOLOGY, 1
(2008), no. 2, 269-284; and

I. Agol, D. Groves, and J. F. Manning, "Residual finiteness, QCERF and
fillings of hyperbolic groups," GEOMETRY AND TOPOLOGY, 13 (2009),
no. 2, 1043-1073.

Also receiving the 2013 Veblen Prize for related work is Daniel Wise
of McGill University.

The full citation for this prize and additional information can be
found in the Joint Mathematics Meetings Prize Booklet, at
http://www.ams.org/profession/prizebooklet-2013.pdf.  Find out more
about AMS prizes at http://www.ams.org/prizes-awards/prizes.