Spring 2003 Colloquium

At the bottom of this page is a list of downloadable PDF files of the available abstracts of the Spring 2003 Colloquium talks.

Spring 2003

Date Speaker Title
January 23 Reviel Netz, Classics, Stanford University Archimedes: the madness of the method
January 30 DiPerna memorial lecture: John Ball, Oxford University & Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton The regularity of minimizers in elasticity
February 6 Matilde Marcolli, Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik, Bonn From noncommutative to arithmetic geometry
February 13 Ioana Dumitriu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Numerical linear algebra methods in random matrix theory
February 20 Idun Reiten, NTNU (Trondheim), visiting MSRI Dynkin diagrams
February 27 Ezra Miller, University of Minnesota and MSRI Combinatorial positivity by geometric degeneration
March 6 Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University, visiting Stanford University Non-conventional ergodic theorems, nilmanifolds, and the long term memory of dynamical systems
March 13 Jesus De Loera, UC Davis Lattice point counting in polyhedra: theory, applications, and software
March 20 Kay Giesecke, Cornell University Trends and compensation
March 27 Spring Break!
April 3 Calvin Moore, UC Berkeley History of the Berkeley Mathematics Department
April 10 Andrea Goldsmith, Electrical Engineering, Stanford University Water pouring, MUD, and dirty paper: the mathematics of wireless communications with multiple antennas
April 17 James Yorke, University of Maryland Learning about reality from observation
April 24 Norbert Schappacher, Technische Universität Darmstadt Kurt Heegner - an outsider in number theory
May 1 Sandu Popescu, Bristol University, Hewlett Packard/MSRI Visiting Research Professor Quantum non-locality
May 8 Roger Howe, Yale University Invariant theory and quantum computation

The colloquium meets Thursdays at 4:10PM in 60 Evans Hall. Before the lecture, refreshments are served in 1015 Evans Hall (3:00pm-4:00pm). Lectures last 50 minutes and are followed by a short question period. The mathematical public is cordially invited to attend.

Hendrik W. Lenstra, Jr., Colloquium chair